Build from plans versus kit, looking for advice

The place to discuss SCAMP (Small Craft Advisor Magazine Project), our 11' 11" micro minicruiser.

Moderator: Moderator

Dryboater
New Contributor

Build from plans versus kit, looking for advice

Post by Dryboater »

Hi - I am a newbie to this group looking to build a SCAMP. I am hesitant on whether to buy only the plans (I am a competent woodworker but have never built a boat before) or just go ahead and order the full kit. Questions (all assuming that I use the same quality of wood as the kit would contain):
1. how much time would I save kit versus plans, roughly?
2. again roughly, estimated savings in cost (if any) of lumber and plywood if I source it myself in New England versus the same as provided in the kit?

I am recently retired, so time is not the main issue for me and I am intrigued by the challenge of cutting all the bits myself, but I am not the most patient person so if the time savings is significant by using the kit and the cost difference not so significant I might be tempted by that alone.

I would be grateful for any opinions on which way to go.

Regards, Chris
kenjamin
Recognized Old Salt

Re: Build from plans versus kit, looking for advice

Post by kenjamin »

I looked into buying the kit but at the time shipping the kit across to the East coast was about $500. I was too cheap to spend that so worked from plans only. There's no doubt that you save a lot of time and figuring with the kit but $500 buys a lot of plywood. You just have to decide if you have more time than money or more money than time. Good luck with your build – it's a great little boat!
ahilde
New Contributor

Post by ahilde »

I am building from plans. I will be starting a topic on my build, with pictures, in this forum. Right now I am cutting plywood. The shipping cost was more than I wanted to spend. I found a great supplier of meranti plywood in NH. Picked it up when I was returning from a trip.

Some tips: