Addendum for "plans only" people

The place to discuss SCAMP (Small Craft Advisor Magazine Project), our 11' 11" micro minicruiser.

Moderator: Moderator

kenjamin
Recognized Old Salt

Addendum for "plans only" people

Post by kenjamin »

It's great to be part of the multitude of folks building SCAMPs. It's going to be a wonderful boat for me when I'm finished and I have really enjoyed the accuracy of the plans. Having said that, after trying to help Fred4win through the scraffing process that "plans only" people must master, I'm wondering if it would be a good idea for Small Craft Advisor to provide an addendum for the plans only people. I am a fairly experienced builder and yet it still took me a while to figure out how long I wanted my finished scraffed together sheets to be and also I discovered that even after I had scraffed together my sheets, the nesting diagram provided in the plans did not apply because they included the puzzle cuts that I was unable to create.

It would take some work to come up with a bevel scraffing plan, information about bevel scraffing, and a nesting plan for the resultant sheets but if it were done with an experienced builder who was working with plans only and doing his or her own bevel scrafs anyway, that could be an easy way to come up with the additional information needed by the plans only people. I wasted quite a lot of ply trying to figure out the appropriate lengths for my nesting plan and wasn't very satisfied with the efficiency of my build so I'm pretty sure there are much more experienced builders out there who do a much better job of it than I would so I'm not exactly volunteering for the job myself, just thinking that it's something that would be very helpful and worth considering.