#70 - an amateur kit build

The place to discuss SCAMP (Small Craft Advisor Magazine Project), our 11' 11" micro minicruiser.

Moderator: Moderator

Bcbimmer
Recognized Old Salt

#70 - an amateur kit build

Post by Bcbimmer »

Hello all,

I thought it might be helpful to other non-builders out there to post my fumblings as the kit progresses. Always good to learn from your mistakes but even better to learn from somebody else's. I am a 56 year old Veterinarian and took my last woodworking class in high school. I have been a rower for 20 years so am comfortable on the water (flat water) but of course am always going backwards so my mindset for port and starboard are also backwards. I have been on a sailboat about 5 times in my life so basically have no sailing knowledge. I like the idea of being on the water without the sound of a motor and don't plan on worrying about how long it takes to get there.

My only boat building experience is building a 23 foot cedar strip rowing shell with my retired engineer father. Gave good experience in shaping wood, fiberglassing, epoxy and varnishing. Two somewhat perfectionist personalities involving a lot of heated discussions over a good single malt Scotch finished what I think is a thing of beauty but it took 5 years of occasional evenings and weekends. Any of you who have been attending the Port Townsend wooden boat festival will likely have seen ones build by the designer, Ben Louden. I think he used to bring his boats and give carving seminars.

I thought I would likely come up with a lot of stupid questions along the way so I might as well ask them here and save others the embarrassment . Hopefully I can figure out how to post photos as I go. Feel free to tell me if I am rambling or if my ideas are idiotic. I take criticism well at a distance. I will also try and tally up the costs as I go as I suspect a beginner is going to be far more wasteful than an old pro.