Murzsteg Agreement

by · April 11, 2021

The 1897 agreement, a secret document on maintaining the status quo in the Balkans, was formalized by an exchange of letters between the Austro-Hungarian Foreign Minister A. Gouchowski (letter of 26 April [8 May] ) and the Russian Foreign Minister, Mr. N. Murav`ev (5 May [17]). The reason for this agreement was the inability of one of the two powers to actively intervene in Balkan affairs. As a result of the growing contradictions between nationalities, Austria and Hungary have encountered serious internal difficulties. Russia was occupied by the Far East. Both governments have promised to maintain the status quo in the Balkans. The agreement stipulated that, if in the event of an impossibility, both parties would later reach a special agreement. However, because of their “eminently European character”, the themes of Istanbul (Constantinopole), the Black Seas and the neighbouring regions should not be the subject of any special agreement between the two powers. The 1907 Russian-Austrian Agreement, signed in Vienna on 15 September (28), is a continuation of the 1903 agreement on the implementation of reforms in Macedonia (for example). B administrative and judicial reforms and the appointment of Russian and Austro-Hungarian civil operatives to monitor the Turkish authorities). The conclusion of the 1907 agreement was motivated by the worsening situation in Macedonia and by the United Kingdom`s response to Macedonian reforms.

The 1907 agreement between Russia and Austria-Hungary was formalized in an official statement on the meeting of foreign ministers. The two powers agreed to pacify Macedonia, the implementation of the M-rzsteg programme is expected to continue until 1914 and, to that end, Turkey should extend the powers of European military and civilian officers in Macedonia for a further seven years. After the defeat of the Russo-Japanese War (1904-05), Russia lost much of its influence in the Balkans. In 1907, Austria-Hungary refused to support judicial reforms and Ottoman officials opposed financial reforms. In 1908, the sultan authorized the construction of a railway line linking Mitrovica to Thessaloniki, which favoured Austria and Hungary and violated the agreement of Merzsteg. The agreement was officially denounced when, in May 1909, the Ottoman government was authorized to conclude the Commission on International Financial Control in Macedonia. [1] In 1908, Turkey and Austria-Hungary reached an agreement on the construction of a railway from Sarajevo to Thessaloniki in 1908, 1908, for the construction of a railway from Sarajevo to Thessaloniki in 1997, via the Sanjak of Novi Pazar and Macedonia. On 2 September 1908, at Buchlau Castle in Bohemia, Russia and Austria-Hungary tentatively agreed, verbally, on the Balkan issue.

The agreement was reached following the two powers` desire to strengthen their position in the Balkans following the 1908 Young Turks Revolution. Austria-Hungary has pledged to support Russia`s efforts to secure Turkey`s right to transport navy ships by the Black Sea route. In exchange, Russia accepted the annexation of Bosnia and Herzegovina by Austria-Hungary. Russia, however, considered that the Bosnian issue and other problems in the Balkans could only be resolved by a conference of European states. The Austro-Hungarian government was displeased with this proposal. With the support of Germany, Austria-Hungary announced the annexation of Bosnia and Herzegovina on 7 October 1908, provoking a serious international conflict (the Bosnian crisis of 1908-1909).

Filed Under: Uncategorized